• Follow Me On Twitter! @emmayeats

Slow Cooker

As a college student I don’t always have the time or desire to cook dinner after a long day of classes and homework. Usually if I’m pooped I’ll pop a lean cuisine into the microwave or make a quick salad with whatever I can find first in the refrigerator. But, that doesn’t always hit the spot after a long day, especially when it’s cold outside and all I want is a big bowl of hearty chili or pasta. I’m always searching for low-point filling recipes that are quick and easy. I really really love recipes that I can make ahead and eat for a couple days. Last night I think I found the answer to my problem – slow cooked food! I made the weight watcher version of Slow-Cooker Chicken Cacciatore. One cup is only 4 points! I served it over 2 oz of whole wheat pasta for 3 points and my entire dinner was 7 points. This recipe is proof that planning meals ahead of time is super easy and can really pay off. I put all the ingredients in the slow cooker before I ate lunch and just let it do it’s thing until dinner! Here is the original recipe:

1 pound boneless, skinless chicken thigh(s), cut into bite size pieces

1 cup mushrooms, sliced

1 cup green peppers, sliced

1 cup onion, chopped

1 large garlic clove, minced

1 Tbsp canned tomato pasta

14.5 oz canned crushed tomatoes, fire-roasted

1/4 cup dry red wine

3/4 tsp dried oregano, crushed

3/4 tsp table salt

1/4 tsp black pepper

Place chicken in a 3-5 quart slow cooker. Add mushrooms, pepper, onion, garlic, tomato paste, tomatoes and juice, wine, oregano, salt and pepper. Cover slow cooker. Cook on high heat for 5-6 hours or on low heat for 6-8 hours. Yields 1 cup per serving. Yields 4 servings.

Usually I find that weight watcher recipes need a little help to taste really good, so in my version I used a little less pepper and a little more mushrooms (personal preference), crushed tomatoes with garlic because I couldn’t find fire-roasted in the store, and diced chicken breasts instead of thighs. I also added in extra salt, pepper and oregano because the sauce tasted a little bland, and for an extra kick I put in a dash of cinnamon which took this recipe from good to delicious. It really would have been dynamite if there were some parm cheese sprinkled over the top, but I didn’t want to spend a whole point on a little sprinkle. If you have the extra points then go for it!!

IMG_0990IMG_0991

This dinner was so delicious I can’t wait to eat it for the next two nights. I’m going to change it up a bit by having a small sweet potato tonight instead of pasta, but you can make this recipe however you like!

Happy eating!

One Response

  1. Yum! I will definitely try this next week…probably Monday. 🙂 Thanks for sharing it!

Leave a comment