• Follow Me On Twitter! @emmayeats

This Week So Far..

This week I’ve made some really yummy recipes!

Friday night I cooked Hot&Hearty Chili from Weight Watchers five ingredient 15 minute magazine. It was sooo yummy and very filling. And, it was only 4 points! To go with it I melted 1/4 cup fat free shredded chedder cheese over 1 slice of high-fiber thin sliced bread. I sprayed the bread with a little bit of butter and rubbed it with some garlic before putting it in the oven for about five minutes, then I topped it with the cheese and put the bread back in the oven until the cheese was gooey and delicious (this was an additional 1.5 points).

1 pound ground beef

1 cup prechopped onion

1 (14.5-ounce) can diced tomatoes with garlic, undrained

1 (15-ounce) can kidney beans, rinsed and drained

1 cup hot water

2 tablespoons chili powder

1 ounce semisweet chocolate

1 teaspoon ground cumin

1 teaspon salt

1/2 teaspon dried oregano

Cook beef and onion in a large saucepan over medium-high heat 5 minutes. Drain, if necessary, and return beef mixture to pan. Add tomatoes and remaining ingredients: cover and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer 5 minutes.

(I found the recipe was kind of watery so I recommend draining the beef and adding a small amount of spaghetti sauce and extra garlic for more flavor!)

IMG_0900

IMG_0901

Sunday Night was also a big cooking night. For the start of Yom Kippur I invited a friend over for dinner and I made garden style lasagna from Cookinglight.com (click here for recipe). He’s a vegetarian so I figured this would be an easy dish. It was delicious and a great meal to make for a large dinner party but much more time consuming than I expected. In theory this recipe is 5 points, but I added a lot of extra cheese that wasn’t called for and oil because I was in such a hurry to get it finished so my version probably ended up being 7-8 points.

IMG_0915I also cooked challah bread pudding from Cookinglight.com  (click here for recipe). I needed to bring something to my break fast tonight at my cousin’s house so I doubled the recipe and split it into two baking dishes. The recipe was a success! Each serving is 5 points. If you only get 19 points a day like me than I would say this recipe probably might not be worth it even though it’s delicious, but if you are going to a party where people aren’t as concerned it was a really easy thing to make ahead of time.IMG_0909

Have you made any great low-fat recipes lately? Share them by leaving a comment!


One Response

  1. Wow all of those recipes look pretty awesome!

Leave a comment